jbrantley

Dell OpenManage Hardware Monitoring Info Exchange

This conversation started in the LTGeek slack channel. For the sake of providing a better info exchange, I've created this post.

Initially, I posed the question around monitoring hardware via OpenManage and SNMP as that is what was setup by LT Consulting prior to my inheritance of LabTech. The original issue is that I have at least one server with a failed HDD not reporting the error. My guess is that the OID is missing but I have limited knowledge at best in regards to SNMP monitoring.

All information or best practices for hardware monitoring through OpenManage is greatly appreciated!

Personally, my system is as follows:

1. Install OpenManage on all new Dell servers

2. Setup Search for OpenManage on Servers in Labtech

--OS like %server%

--Related - Software Installed / Name Like %OpenManage%

3. Create group based on the search

4. Apply a script weekly(could be more often) to all the members of the group to install SNMP and set it to Public

Version="105.247"
Name="LabTech Script Expansion"
Type="PackedScript">

5. Create monitors in the group to monitor the wanted OIDs

--OID 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10893.1.20.140.1.1.4.1 for VD1 Status

--OID 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10893.1.20.140.1.1.4.2 for VD2 Status

--OID 1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10892.1.200.10.1.24.1 for Internal Temperature

The VD ones return the status of the disk. There are several possible outputs, but the only one that is an all good is a 1. So I check that the results equals 1.

As for the temperature, 3 is the expected return value.

I found all of this in a PDF Dell put out, but I can't seem to find it anymore. Enough searching should turn up a full list of Dell Server OIDs and expected values.

I like that script to enable SNMP, thanks, we've been doing that by hand.

I'm attaching our exported group config bc we have a few more OIDs we're monitoring for in there, maybe others might find useful.

DellOpenManage.zip

Hi,