Srdan

New to Automate - Question(s)

Posted (edited)

Hello,

I am completely new to automate, MSP and RMM tools. We are planing to do some MSP-kind work with our clients, so I started exploring the possible solutions, and came over CW automate (after trying out Solarwinds RMM, NinjaRMM and Kaseya VSA).

Right now I am in the trial with Automate, and trying the most typical features, agent deployment, software deployment and patching.

My first issue I am coming across is that automatic deployment, or even manual via network discovery, is flimsy at best:

Readiness check tells me that I need to install .NET, while Win10 already all have .NET 4.8 by default. When I install 3.5 manually, the message disappears, and then it says I need credentials. And those are entered at all 3 places: location, probe and deployment manager. Even tried entering manually in the computer object itself. In my domain it deployed on two machines of 20 automatically, and even some machines said simply incompatible due to not being a computer... huh? (I did set it in the location properties, network devices).

While I do know that I can deploy by hand or AD, I was hoping to deploy in a workgroup, without an issue, since we have some clients with about 50 devices, and I would gladly like to avoid manual installations.

My 2nd issue is following:

First we got the trial account for the cloud. After I deployed some agents, they first went online, and after a minute or so, offline. Debug log of the agent had shown some funky stuff:

LTService  v190.250     - 01/10/2019 15:21:17     - Sent Status:::
LTService  v190.250     - 01/10/2019 15:21:23     - Status Result Error: :::
LTService  v190.250     - 01/10/2019 15:21:28     - Status Result Error: :::
LTService  v190.250     - 01/10/2019 15:21:33     - Status Result Error: :::
LTService  v190.250     - 01/10/2019 15:21:33     - An exception occurred during a WebClient request.:::